Senate begins investigation of Elisha Abbo over alleged assault of woman at sex-toy shop

The Senate on Tuesday set up an Ad-hoc Committee with Senator Samuel Egwu as chairman to investigate the alleged assault by the Senator representing Adamawa North Senatorial district, Elisha Abbo of a nursing mother at a sex-toy shop.

Speaking through order 14, Senator Uba Sani representing Kaduna Central Senatorial district explained that the video would bring the 9th Senate to the public opium if the allegation was not investigated.

He disclosed that he received 111 calls from Nigeria and outside Nigeria over the video, noting that the Senate must take action to save its reputation.

“Mr. President, distinguished colleagues, yesterday night, there was a viral video involving Senator Elisha Abbo assaulting a nursing mother at a sex-toy shop.

“Between yesterday night and this morning, I received about 111 calls internationally and locally over the issue and this Senate must take action to save its name.”

Contributing, Senator Opeyemi Bamidele urged the Senate not to be sensational, citing sections 33, 34, 35 of the constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, 1999 as amended. He said both parties have right to fair hearing at the appropriate forum, adding that justice must be seen to have been done.

Citing rule 56, Senate Minority leader, Enyinnaya Abaribe said, Senate must not apportion blame until the matter is investigated.

“Rule 56 of our books like I said yesterday that we are 109 privileges Senators and so we cannot apportion guilt or take decision. Let’s suspend judgement until the matter is investigated.”

Senate President, Ahmad Ibrahim Lawan explained that he also received lots of calls locally and internationally, noting that the Senate will not condone undiscipline.

He assured that Justice would be done, while he encouraged the alleged victim to provide more proofs, if there are, while he set up an Ad-hoc Committee to investigate the matter.

The members are:

Sen. Samuel Egwu – Chairman

Senator Oluremi Tinubu – Member
Matthew Uroghide – Member
Stella Oduah – Member
Danladi Sankara – Member