Enyimba are NPFL champions

Enyimba have been crowned the 2019 Nigerian Professional Football League champions for a record eighth time after a 3-0 win over Akwa United at the Agege Stadium on Wednesday.

Goals from Reuben Bala, Stanley Dimgba and Abdulrahman Bashir secured an emphatic win for Usman Abd’allah’s side.

Enyimba finished the 2019 championship playoffs with a remarkable 12 points from five games, with four wins and scoring 10 goals.

The Aba side started brightly but it was Akwa United who got the first chance on goal through Mfon Udoh in the 16th minute but his goal-bound header was saved by Theophilus Afelokhai.

Two minutes later, Joseph Osadiaye’s free-kick was parried by Emmanuel Iwu to Bashir, whose effort hit the crossbar.

Balathen bundled in Osadiaye cross in the 43rd minute to hand his side a 1-0 lead into the break.

In the second half, a header from Stanley Dimgba extended Enyimba’s lead on the hour mark, before Bashir’s sweetly-struck strike from 25 yards ultimately sealed the match and the title.

Enyimba will represent Nigeria in next season’s CAF Champions League.

In the first championship playoff clash on Wednesday, Enugu Rangers defeated FC IfeanyiUbah 4-2 in a six-goal thriller to secure a CAF Confederation Cup ticket.

A brace from Chiamaka Madu, an own goal from Jimoh Gbadamosi and a penalty from Godwin Aguda ensured Chibuike Ezeh’s double for FC Ifeanyiubah was a mere consolation. Rangers finished third in the NPFL standings with eight points from five games.