CBN, Dangote, others contribute N15.3bn to COVID-19 fund

The contributions to the Coalition Against COVID-19 relief fund rose to N15.3bn as of April 1, 2020, according to the Central Bank of Nigeria.

The CBN and Aliko Dangote led with N2bn contribution each, according to the list of contributors to the CACOVID relief funds which was released on Wednesday by the apex bank.

Abdulsamad Rabiu, Segun Agbaje, Tony Elumelu, Oba Otudeko, Jim Ovia, Herbert Wigwe and Femi Otedola contributed N1bn each.

Deji Adeleke of Pacific Holdings Limited contributed N500m, while Union Bank, Sterling Bank, Standard Chartered Bank, Stanbic IBTC, Citibank Nigeria Limited, FCMB, Fidelity Bank, Ecobank Plc and Ray Gupta contributed N250m each.

Multichoice Nigeria Limited made a contribution of N200m.

FSDH, FBN Merchant Bank, Rand Merchant Bank, Coronation Merchant Bank, Suntrust Bank, Providus Bank, Wema Bank, Unity Bank, Heritage Bank, Nova Merchant Bank, Polaris Bank, and Keystone Bank contributed N100m each.

Globus Bank, Titan Trust Bank and Takagro Chemicals Limited contributed N50m each.

Ahmadu Mahmoud and Mrs Etuh Foundation of Handy Capital Limited contributed N20m and N5m respectively.

The CBN said, “Sequel to our pledge in the statement issued on March 30, 2020 to provide a weekly update on the contributions to the relief fund, above is the list of contributors to the fund as of April 1, 2020.”

The CBN recently announced plans to raise about N120bn to curb the coronavirus pandemic.

The CBN Governor, Godwin Emefiele, had said on behalf of the Bankers’ Committee and in partnership with the private sector led by Aliko Dangote Foundation and Access Bank, they had come together to form the Nigerian Private Sector Coalition Against COVID-19.