2019 FIBA World Cup: D’Tigers arrives Lagos for final camping

Nigeria’s national senior men basketball team, D’Tigers, on Tuesday arrived in Lagos for the next and final phase of their preparations for the 2019 FIBA World Cup in China.

The team arrived in Lagos after their training tour which followed weeks of preparations in the U.S.

“The contingent led by Head Coach Alex Nowra arrived from Atlanta and will immediately continue their preparations for the World Cup,” Afolabi Oni, the team’s media coordinator, said in a statement on Tuesday.

He said that the initial group of 44 players invited to camp has since been pruned to 15 as the team’s training hits home stretch.

Team captain Ike Diogu leads the list of the last 15 players in camp, alongside the likes of: Uzoh Benjamin Chukwukelo, Ireogbu Ike, Okogie Joshua Aloiye, Nwamu Ike.

Others include: Jordan Nwora, Aminu Al Farouq, Stanley Okoye and Vincent Nnamdi Gabriel.

The rest are: Ekpe Udoh, Chimieze Metu, Zanna Talib, Aminu Abdul Alade, Akindele Jaleel Ayodeji and Michael Eric.

While in Lagos, the team will continue their training and play a couple of tune-up games as well as interact with members of the media and their teeming fans before their departure for China.

This is expected to come up on August 19.

So far, the team has played four friendlies and won three, beating Canada and winning twice against fellow World Cup-bound Dominican Republic.

Nwora is being assisted by Cyprien Glynn Ray, Burlesson Kevin and Ogoh Odaudu

List of retained players:
Point Guards

Uzoh Benjamin Chukwukelo (CB Caballeros de Culican)

Ireogbu Ike (Science City Jena, Germany)

Shooting Guards

Okogie Joshua Aloiye (Minnesota Timberwolves, NBA)

Nwamu Ike (Sioux Falls Skyforce, NBA)

Nwora Jordan Ifeanyi (University of Louisville, USA)

Vincent Nnamdi Gabriel (Stockton Kings, NBA)

Small Forwards

Aminu Al Farouq (Portland Trail Blazers, NBA)

Stanley Okoye (Tecnyconta Zaragoza, Spain)

Power Forwards

Diogu Ikechukwu Somto (Bayaman Vaqueros, Puerto Rico)

Zanna Talib (Montakit Fuenlabrada, Spain)

Ekpe Udoh (Utah Jazz, NBA)

Aminu Abdul Alade (Capitanies de Arecibo, Puerto Rico)

Chimezie Metu (San Antonio Spurs, NBA)


Michael Eric (Darussafaka, Turkey)

Akindele Jeleel Ayodeji (Hapoel SP Tel-Aviv).